Club Dinner 2018

Hannah Watchorn_2018 Club Member_edit (2)

Congratulations to our Mens and Womens Club Captains on a fantastic end of season Club Dinner!

The 2017/2018 season ended in style last Saturday when over 150 people gathered in the Hilton hotel to highlight the efforts of all our players over the last few months and to celebrate the start of a summer break.

Many thanks to Chloe Halpenny and her Social Committee for all their work in organising this event. Thanks also to Club Captains Ciara Hughes and Derek Hennessy who signed off on a long season by introducing all the team captains who then went on to present Players Player awards to raucous approval.

A special note of thanks goes to the legendary Bertie Buttimer who presented his inaugural award for Mens top goal scorer; Alan Sothern was a worthy recipient with a goal tally that exceeded anyone else in the country!

On the women’s side, Aisling Schutte won the Agnes Lewis award for Womens top goal scorer and the Batt bowl was awarded to the 2nds for highest goal tally in league competition.

The awards were rounded off with presentation of the Linda Ryan Club Person of the year award. This is presented by the Executive Committee to a person they feel has contributed to the club in an exceptional manner over the season.

Our recipient this year is the epitome of volunteerism and eternal good will towards Pembroke Wanderers, a club she has been a member of since the day she was born. Aside from her enduring sideline support for all the teams, no favour or request was too much and we are very grateful to her for all her efforts both on and off the pitch this season.

Club President Elaine Donohoe presented the award to Hannah Watchorn.

Posted by Elaine

Recent News

Good Scott! M2s savour YMCA whitewash but no joy elsewhere on lean weekend

M2s waited until the end of the day to bring some cheer to the home support by…

Read More

Sothern Six lights up Pembroke Festival of Hockey

𝗦𝗼𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗿𝗻 𝗦𝗶𝘅 𝗹𝗶𝗴𝗵𝘁𝘀 𝘂𝗽 𝗣𝗲𝗺𝗯𝗿𝗼𝗸𝗲 𝗙𝗲𝘀𝘁𝗶𝘃𝗮𝗹 𝗼𝗳 𝗛𝗼𝗰𝗸𝗲𝘆 Alan Sothern equals own EYHL scoring record while 3s…

Read More

Kiwi mettle breaks league leaders as M3s advance over UCD

𝙆𝙞𝙬𝙞 𝙢𝙚𝙩𝙩𝙡𝙚 𝙗𝙧𝙚𝙖𝙠𝙨 𝙡𝙚𝙖𝙜𝙪𝙚 𝙡𝙚𝙖𝙙𝙚𝙧𝙨 𝙖𝙨 𝙈3𝙨 𝙖𝙙𝙫𝙖𝙣𝙘𝙚 𝙤𝙫𝙚𝙧 𝙐𝘾𝘿 Two crackers from John Lynch and a…

Read More